The Student Room Group
University College London, University of London
University College London
London

UCL cs

I'm a student who completed three A-Levels in IT, Philosophy and Economics at A*BB. Since I want to study computer science at university, I have enrolled at a college to study A-Level Maths in one year. Would I stand a chance of receiving an offer for UCL computer science (A*AA) if i'm predicted an A in A-Level Maths ?
Well probably not since you don't have the entry requirements. Also, UCL will probably want you to take another subject as IT is considered a soft subject along with Philosophy.
University College London, University of London
University College London
London
Original post by Roarmaster
Well probably not since you don't have the entry requirements. Also, UCL will probably want you to take another subject as IT is considered a soft subject along with Philosophy.
A*ABB would be equivalent to A*AA and OP passes the 4th AS requirement too since, in the end, they would have 4 A2-Level subjects.

Also if you look at UCL's entry requirements you must do at least 2 facilitating A-Level subjects. Philosophy is considered facilitating and so is Economics, and Maths when OP does it. Only 2 out of the 3, in this case 4, have to be facilitating. So it'll be fine if his 4th subject is ICT. The issue is whether spending an extra 2 years to do Maths A-Level rather than alongside your other 3 would jeopardise your application. UCL's response looking at previous threads and their website is that yes your application would be considered, but you'd be disadvantaged for doing an extra 2 years.