roosters4sale
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 years ago
Please can someone recommend the best 'King Lear' revision guide they know of?
Also, the best 'Measure for meausre' (Shakespeare) revision guide/web sources?
Thanks.
username976741
Badges: 13
Rep:
?
Report 4 years ago
(Original post by roosters4sale)
Please can someone recommend the best 'King Lear' revision guide they know of?
Also, the best 'Measure for meausre' (Shakespeare) revision guide/web sources?
Thanks.
I studied Lear for A2 last year along with 'Burial at Thebes' in a synoptic module.

No Fear Shakespeare is decent for simply understanding the text a lot better.
What is your specification on? As in, what aspect of Lear are you studying?
A.C Bradley's lectures are very useful, as are Fintan O'Toole's essays (one is 'Shakespeare is Hard, but so is life' and the other is 'At the Zero Hour' or something to that effect). Erm I found York Notes A2 Shakespeare decent enough but only for really filling in the gaps. A2 Lit is about arguments and nothing matched O'Toole or Bradley's style of writing or argumentation.

Posted from TSR Mobile
roosters4sale
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 years ago
]I studied Lear for A2 last year along with 'Burial at Thebes' in a synoptic module.

A.C Bradley's lectures are very useful, as are Fintan O'Toole's essays (one is 'Shakespeare is Hard, but so is life' and the other is 'At the Zero Hour' or something to that effect). Erm I found York Notes A2 Shakespeare decent enough but only for really filling in the gaps. A2 Lit is about arguments and nothing matched O'Toole or Bradley's style of writing or argumentation.

Thank you for that, that's very helpful! :-) I'm yet to begin the A2 course so I'm not sure which aspect of Lear I'm studying but the spec is edexcel if that helps? I know that the exam essay for Lear last year (edexcel) was about the Fool's role in the play.
username976741
Badges: 13
Rep:
?
Report 4 years ago
(Original post by roosters4sale)