The Student Room Group

Will student finance fund my second degree?

Hi I am a biomedical Science student my course is three years long. I am going to apply for either undergraduate 5 year medicine course or 4 year graduate medicine course. Will student finance fund my second degree?

Please helpppppp
thanksss
Original post by a7ouc1
Hi I am a biomedical Science student my course is three years long. I am going to apply for either undergraduate 5 year medicine course or 4 year graduate medicine course. Will student finance fund my second degree?

Please helpppppp
thanksss

Sorry I'm much younger and cannot help you but I want to ask a question. How well do you have to do in GCSE and A Levels to go and do medicine like you are?
Reply 2
Partly yes as it's healthcare.

Posted from TSR Mobile
Reply 3
Original post by a7ouc1

Please helpppppp
thanksss

They will fund 4 year, but not 5 year.

Posted from TSR Mobile
you get the length of your course + 1 year - years studied (so you'd only have 1 year of funding available)
pretty sure if you've completed a degree they won't finance a new one
Reply 5
As funding stands currently, you will get a basic rate of maintenance loan for a second degree in Medicine if you do the 5 year course. No grants or tuition loans though. If you do the 4 year course, you get more support.
Reply 6
Original post by SamuelSingleton
you get the length of your course + 1 year - years studied (so you'd only have 1 year of funding available)
pretty sure if you've completed a degree they won't finance a new one

That 'gift year' doesn't apply anymore once you've completed the first degree. Its purpose is only to help ensure you are able to complete a first degree.
Original post by a7ouc1

Please helpppppp
thanksss

For 5 year courses you get only the basic maintenance loan for the first 4 years, and no help with tuition fees. I believe in 5th year the NHS pay your fees, but I don't know what happens with your maintenance.