Career advice please! Another med or clinpsy post.

Watch
CA17
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 5 years ago
Hi.
Recently I have been thinking of applying for graduate medicine and I have done my research on the course, funding, years spent in education etc. And I have booked a UKCATSEN exam. However, I am slightly concerned whether medicine is a good route for me to take - due to the costs and years involved I would like to make the best informed decision as possible.

Before my thoughts of doing graduate medicine, I was considering taking the clinical psychology path - I am currently a third year psychology student and on track for a 1st or at least very high 2.1. My interests primarily lie in mood disorders, biological psychology and cognitive psychology. I am fascinated by the brain and recent research seems to suggest that there is clearly a physiological component to the onset and maintenance of mood disorders (and I am not talking about serotonin pathways..). And because of this, it has made me want to know more physiologically what is going on in the human body to give rise to certain disorders and diseases (I am pretty open to learning about the human condition in general too). Psychology barely teaches much on the biological side. I considered neuropsychology, but my primary interest does lie in mood disorders and not stroke and neurodegen patients. Neuropsy assessments are pretty interesting, just down to the fact I can see what I have learnt on my degree be applied to a real setting - however I would rather know what was going on in the brain biologically and how to treat it..than assessing cognitive ability. I understand the usefulness of them of course, but just personally can not see myself doing it in my everyday job. Therapy is again pretty interesting and I would love the one to one interaction - but I wouldn't want it to fill most of my job. And finally another part of psychology is the research - which I find interesting again and I would li