Turn on thread page Beta

MPP at Oxbridge, LSE watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    Hello everyone,

I am a rising senior about to apply to graduate school. I want to do a Public Policy Master. I am interested in the programs offered by Oxford, Cambridge and LSE. Is anyone currently doing one of this programs and maybe could share his/her experience with me?

I would also like to ask whether I stand a realistic chance for admission in one of these programs. I am currently an undergrad at a university in the top 30 in the world. My grades are mediocre/decent (horrible first year with all kind of grades including few Cs and Ds and 2:2 overall) and much, much better academic achievements in the following years with an overall of 2:1 and mostly As, few Bs, 1 C and 1 D. My overall grade in terms of USA GPA is 3.3 right now. I do believe I can raise it up in the final year just a little bit more. However, according to the "minimum requirements" that's not even close to being enough for an offer. I do realize how trivial it sounds but.. are they strict on this? And more importantly, are my chances illusory? :/

I would really appreciate anything you guys might have to add. Thank you!

ReputationRep:
    Sorry but yes, they are strict on the minimums. In fact in those programs most admitted students get well above the minimum and many have a first class pass (usually seen as 3.7GPA, Cambridge's department considers a 3.85 the equivalent). Unless you have something else outstanding about your application (such as particularly relevant and interesting work experience) I think you'd just be wasting your time and the application fees. Sorry - I know this isn't what you want to hear.

ReputationRep: