Turn on thread page Beta

Chemistry or English Literature? Advice needed! watch

ReputationRep:
    Hey,
    So I recently started college and at this moment in time I am studying History, Geography, Biology and English Lit/Chemistry. I have to decide between English Lit and Chemistry in the coming weeks. I am not at all certain what I want to do as a degree - I am however, leaning towards law or something like a History degree where afterwards I can study law. In my GCSE's I got an A* in both literature and chemistry so I feel fairly confident I can do well in both.

Lit -
    I have had a couple of lesson in English literature and though some aspects seem interesting, a lot of the content just doesn't appeal to me. It is very poetry heavy and I have always struggled to get to grips with it, it just doesn't click for me. When I ask teachers (including my form tutor, an English teacher) about lit, they tell me how relentlessly difficult and time consuming it is. As well as this, my school is not doing an AS level in Lit (I'm not sure if this is a national A level reform) which puts me off it quite a bit. If I had no AS level in Lit, then surely my university application would be far weaker than many others? Essentially, it makes English lit a two year course - I'm not sure I like this at all. English is a subject where I feel my performance would fluctuate depending on how I feel/the questions I get in the exam. Two years of hard work resting on a few exams is extremely unsettling for me. Plus, there is no option to drop it after AS level.
    However, with that said, my schools English lit grades are very good - 30% A/A* (good for my school at least). Also, I feel that if I do want to go onto do law or something similar, lit would benefit me more than chemistry.

Chemistry -