Turn on thread page Beta

University incompetence, advice needed please. watch

ReputationRep:
    Hi,

This is my first post to the student room.

I am currently studying on an undergraduate programme and was 'lucky' enough to be selected for a study exchange to Denmark (where I am currently typing from). The thing is, however, it has been dogged with problems since the very beginning, mainly due to sheer incompetence and poor communication, not only between my host university and home university, but also between teams and individuals within my home university. Also, there has been a lack of responsibility taken by relevant individuals. Relevant information, such as what, if any, work for my home uni needed to be covered whilst I am away has not been forthcoming, but this is by no means the only failure of the university in this process. It has also even been hard to establish which member of staff is responsible for what in this whole process, and what my personal responsibilities are.

Also, whenever I ask a question to clarify a particular issue it seems that the 'relevant' people often not only do not know what the answer is, but haven't even considered it at all in their 'planning'. Many of these questions are the first things that spring to my mind, such as 'how do the credits transfer' etc.

I have even had to pay an extra £60 (I was lucky it didn't cost more) within the last couple of weeks to rearrange a flight time, because I was told the wrong start date to the term, and only found out the Friday beforehand that I had to be in Denmark on the following Monday. This also meant I had to finish a weeks worth of other commitments in two days, basically meaning minimal or no sleep over 48 to 72 hours, and then jumping straight into the placement the following day. Ridiculous.