Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hi guys,

I need advice on what to research for my job interview later on in the week. It has taken me a while but I've landed a job interview which has been the first interview I've been invited to attend which has something to do with my chemistry degree.

It's for a 'Level 1 Scientist' job for a water company.

I plan to research the company, as well as the chemistry techniques I used at uni (which was 2 years ago now since I graduated) in preparation for the interview.

In the invitational email I received it said, "
    The interviews will be competency based with a few technical questions and should last for about one hour followed by a tour of the lab."

What sort of questions are competancy questions and is there anything else you would recommend for me to research for my first based science interview?
    • TSR Support Team
    • Very Important Poster
    • PS Reviewer

ReputationRep:
    TSR Support Team
    Very Important Poster
    PS Reviewer
    Make sure you know exactly what the company does and what the job is about. It's a good idea to research the top management and their careers and company strategy. Companies tend to have info about company culture and what it's like to work there on their websites too. Make sure you know what you studied at uni and can talk about your project and how your skills relate to the job. Competency based interviews are usually about transferable skills so you'll be asked to describe a situation in which you've had to use initiative or work as part of a team or deal with a difficult situation etc. Look up the STAR approach to answering such questions: Situation, Task, Action, Result and focus on what YOU and WE did. Make sure you have a list of questions to ask after the interview and during the tour and remember that you are being watched at all times. Good luck!

ReputationRep: