spurs9393
Badges: 13
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 6 years ago
Hi,

I've just started AS English Lit and am determined to get an A this year and am A* overall.

The texts I'm currently studying are Coriolanus and The Great Gatsby. Are there any other books which will help me with these; either fictional novels which will help with the context, or analyses, critiques, non-fictional works etc...?

Thanks a lot!
spurs9393
Rep:
?
Bump

Posted from TSR Mobile
Tank Girl
Rep:
?
Report 6 years ago
Hi!

It's always a good idea to read other texts that the author has written- Tender is the Night is a fantastic novel written by Fitzgerald, and well worth a read. You could also read other American novels written in the same time period? (Like Hemingway). The Waste Land by TS Eliot would also be a good read, comparing Eliot's description of 'the waste land' of a post war Europe and Fitzgerald's description of the 'waste land' between West Egg and the city. (Lots has been written on this subject!).

Maybe with Coriolanus you could watch the film version- it's a good way of beginning to think critically about the themes and characters. Just don't rely on it when it comes to doing any writing on the actual play!
spurs9393
Rep:
?
(Original post by Tank Girl)
Hi!

It's always a good idea to read other texts that the author has written- Tender is the Night is a fantastic novel written by Fitzgerald, and well worth a read. You could also read other American novels written in the same time period? (Like Hemingway). The Waste Land by TS Eliot would also be a good read, comparing Eliot's description of 'the waste land' of a post war Europe and Fitzgerald's description of the 'waste land' between West Egg and the city. (Lots has been written on this subject!).

Maybe with Coriolanus you could watch the film version- it's a good way of beginning to think critically about the themes and characters. Just don't rely on it when it comes to doing any writing on the actual play!