Turn on thread page Beta

Would I get a loan, for the third time, or is it too late? watch

ReputationRep:
    Hi,

They say it's never too late, but it might be in my case, due to some bad choices I made when I was younger, uh-oh.

I'm trying to get a bit of info as to whether I would get a full loan + maintenance from student finance, but I can't seem to get any info anywhere, I was wondering if I have blown my chances at further education.

I am interested in returning to university to train to be a primary school teacher, I would be looking at starting in September 2016, I am really unsure as to whether I would qualify for another student loan but I need to know as if I am going to apply to universities I will need to gain more experience in teaching to support my application, not knowing beforehand could waste a lot of time and I am struggling to find answers anywhere...my situation is this:
    • I'm 32
    • I studied for 1 year on a degree back in 2002, I finished the first year then decided not to carry on as the degree was pretty bad and I felt it was a waste of time and money.
    • I went back to university in 2006 and I didn't even complete the first year as I had a bit of breakdown, I remember having to pay back the SLC some money at the time.
    • I have been out of education since 2006 and have also been in and out of the UK, repaying my loan when I have been working in the UK. I've just returned from living in Canada for 13 months.
    At the moment I owe the student loans company something like £11,500 - I have been repaying my loan over the years when I have been earning enough money.

Would the student loans company loan me money to cover 3 years tuition and maintenance given that I have already been (and technically failed) university twice before? Is there any way of getting an answer? I asked on the student finance forum but to no avail, I was wondering if anyone is in a similar situation.

Thanks!

(Original post by spoonmerchant)
    Hi,