Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hi,
    I am a gap year student who is applying to the Mathematics with Economics programme starting 2016.I achieved the following A-level grades:
    • Mathematics: A*
    • Further Mathematics: A*
    • Economics: A*
    • Chemistry: A
    • Extended project: A*
    I have AAAA at AS-level, and 8A* grades at GCSE. I wanted to know whether I would be at a disadvantage by applying as a gap year student. I never resat any exam and have achieved all these grades in the first sitting (as will be indicated on my UCAS application).

Would I make a competitive application?

Thank you

ReputationRep:
    Being a gap year student is a disadvantage for Maths but with your grades you will definitely be considered. LSE do not interview all students but they may well interview you to check where your maths is. Definitely worth applying your application will be competitive.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by jamiep151)
    Being a gap year student is a disadvantage for Maths but with your grades you will definitely be considered. LSE do not interview all students but they may well interview you to check where your maths is. Definitely worth applying your application will be competitive.
    thank you for your response. On my PS I have indicated that I am going through undergrad maths books and resources during my gap year to maintain my Maths abilities, and am also doing related work experience. And thanks I hope my they also think my application is competitive,

ReputationRep:
    Any others also applying/applied to Maths+Econ at LSE?

ReputationRep:
    I was admitted with similar grades and after taking time out so you should be fine as long as your reference/PS is good.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Foxab77)
    Any others also applying/applied to Maths+Econ at LSE?
    I will be applying in the next few weeks for Maths with Economics at the LSE
    AP

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by 32415)