Turn on thread page Beta

iPhone/Android Tablet? watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    Hey,

I've owned an iPhone 5 for the past 2 and a half years and plan on keeping it as it is serviceable and relatively cheap.

I am doing a masters in history starting next week and wish to purchase a tablet.

Prior to the iPhone I had an HTC Desire, so familiar with both Android and iOS (although the Android seems like a lifetime ago now). It doesn't really bother me which operating system I have tbh.

However, I don't really know anything about the tablet market.. So I'd really appreciate it if people could offer me some advice in which direction to go when choosing a device. One thing I seem to have learnt recently is it's not always the best idea to buy the most expensive toy!

I am, initially, drawn more toward purchasing an Android tablet. The main draw here is the fact that if I want to download and watch something on my tablet as and when I like; I can. With an iPad I would have to transfer the file from my PC. The cost of iPads are also somewhat offputting. What concerns me, however, is owning an iPhone and an Android tablet and then having difficulty keeping everything in sync. Mainly I will be using the tablet to take notes on (and here I mean notes from reading, not necessarily lectures/seminars, and will probably keep to PC/laptop to write up essays). I'm sure if I got some 3rd party note software etc it would keep everything synced regardless of OS though, am I right?