Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    I'm currently studying English and Theology at Queen's University, Belfast. Although I absolutely love it, I'm really strongly considering switching to Land Use and Environmental Management, or Planning, Environment and Development.

I really enjoy English and Theology, but talking to older students recently has made me feel that the degree is useless and leads nowhere. Students who are finished have no idea what they wish to do, which is a bit scary for me.
    I hate the stigma surrounding the arts, which people think are useless, and I'm beginning to feel the same way myself.

I used to think teaching would be for me, and if I were to stay on the English and Theology course, I would apply for teaching no doubt. But recently I've questioned wanting to become a teacher, and have strongly considered a career in the built environment, environmental studies, urban design etc. I love how focused they are on physically changing our world and I find them inspiring.
    I did GCSE geography and loved it.

I worry about switching, mostly because I am worried of what people will think. However, I feel that this is not just a fleeting notion, but I would really enjoy the subject and find a great career in this field.
    I got three A's in my A-levels so grades aren't really an issue. I'm about to go into my second year of studying English and Theology. I'm a female, and I'm aged 20.

I guess my question is, should I switch? What advice can anyone give me? Anyone feel the same about the arts/humanities? Should I drop out and apply again for the course I want to do? Should I finish second year? Should I finish my whole English and Theology degree and then do a second degree after that?
    Any help would be greatly appreciated, thank-you!

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Hanbann)