Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hi there I'm new to all this but really wanted somewhere to look for some support.My son has just taken his AS levels and is now starting to study for his A level examinations next year. He was expected to get c grades in all his subjects at AS level but finished with Geography C, Biology D, General Studies D and Chemistry E. He seemed to be studying hard throughout the year although I stood back a little and was only there to help if he asked. This year however we have agreed together that I will help him a lot more; sit and talk through what he's learnt that day and read through homework etc afterwards.I did try to make life as easy as possible for him throughout his exams, as far as I was concerned he had enough to stress about....My husband however takes a completley different approach. He worked away a lot last year and is now home for a month. He has been laying down the law, saying that "obviously he didn't work hard enough last year" and " he isn't studying hard enough!" etc..... he doesn't sit and listen but just shouts and dictates. I don't know what to do or if he's right and I'm approaching this all wrong.....

ReputationRep:
    It sounds as though it might be useful to discuss with school who are likely to be much better informed and take a more emotionally intelligent approach than a parent potentially unconsciously trying to deflect his own guilt for not being around (however worthy the reasons for not being may have been). If your son thinks he *did* work (even if in practice he needed to do more and perhaps even more likely, work smarter) and he's getting this ill-informed attitude there's a risk he'll chuck it all in.