Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    How does Shakespeare present Macbeth as a hero in Act 1 Scene 2?
    I need to include:
    -his actions in battle
    -how others talk about him
    Thanks

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by tree416)
    I need to include:
    -his actions in battle
    Thanks
    Hey tree416,

I'm not an expert on this kind of stuff, but I'll give you a list of tips on how to get the top grades(A*/A):

Read, understand and respond to texts. Students should be able to:

-Maintain a critical style and develop an informed personal response.

-Use textual references, includingquotations, to support and illustrate interpretations.

-Analyse the language, for and structure used by a writer to create meanings and effects, using relevant subject terminology where appropriate.

-Show understand of the relationships between texts and contexts in which they were written.

-Use a range of vocabulary and sentence structures for clarity, purpose and effect, with accurate spelling and punctuation.In relation to a range of texts, to achieve grade 8(new equivalent of A*), candidates will be able to:

-sustain a convincing, informed personal response to explicit and implicit meanings of texts(use your opinion!)

-sustain a perceptive critical analysis of the ways in which writers use language, form and structure (identify and comment on structure and language)

-use judicious and well-integrated (embedded quotes) textual references to develop personal responses(opinion! again!)

-show perceptive understanding of how contexts shape texts and responses to texts(social, historical, cultural context - relate texts to the time of 'Macbeth')

-Make illuminating comparisons between texts(for e.g. between 'Macbeth' and 'An Inspector Calls')

Hope I helped, thanks,

Me (year 10)

P.S. Pay close attention to the bolded words and phrases.

P.S.S Good luck in your GCSEs!

ReputationRep: