Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hi guys.

I hope this isn't in the wrong forum.

I'm twenty one years old and I want to go back to university. I attended for two years but due to something of a breakdown I was forced to drop out. I've spent the last year working and trying to figure out what I want to do from here. I've decided that I need to go back and right my wrongs.

In order to do this, I need a few questions answered (if these questions are answered elsewhere then I apologise).

- I studied for two years. If I can provide the first year of funding in a three year course (which I can), can I still claim the remaining two years of funding to finish the degree?
    -How should I go about applying for university? UCAS? Or is there a different approach for "mature" students?
    -I remember needing references when I was applying. Who can I ask to be my reference this time around if I still need them?
    -How much of my prior run at university am I required to / should I talk about in my application?
    -Is there anything else you can think of that I should know about?

Thanks for taking the time to read this.

ReputationRep:
    I was in a similar boat to you, although I applied to uni whilst i was at college doing an access course, so i had my tutor as my academic reference.

Yes, you will receive funding for the second two years, you'll also receive a maintenence loan for first year should you apply for one, just won't get the £9k to pay the tuition fees

.You will still need to apply through UCAS, as for a reference I don't know, maybe try and see if one of your old teachers will give you one? As it really needs to be an academic reference.

Very little - you'll be able to (and have to) enter it in the "previous qualifications" section, even if you didn't gain a qualification - all I put was something like "I dropped out of university due to personal issues", but I'm not sure you even need to put that in the personal statement.