Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hello everyone,

(If I've posted this in the wrong place or may benefit more from posting it elsewhere, please say so).

I know this website is primarily (or solely) for UK students, however I'm currently a final year Law Student (LLB) at Leeds University. I'm hoping that if I get a 2:1 then I will get a scholarship to do a Masters in Law (LLM).

What I'm wanting to do is become an Architect. I know it sounds pretty bizarre, but I'm passionate and enthusiastic about both subjects. However, I want to do this at the University of Washington (WA, USA). They have two courses available:

- Architecture (BA)
    - Architectural Design (BA)

Both of them are four years and given the descriptions of the courses, I can't really distinguish a great deal between the two. I tried searching for the differences but didn't get much further than the first simply being qualified, whilst the latter just unqualified (or unregistered). I know the USA is different to the UK, but can anyone provide me with some guidance here?

Additionally, there's no financial support for international students and I think I might end up aspiring to be a permanent USA resident prior to applying, thus (I think) being eligible for financial aid (bursaries, grants, scholarships, company reimbursement, etc.) However, does anyone know of any useful institutions that be of benefit to me? I really want to minimise the amount of debt, especially given that I'm probably coming out of my current degree with approximately £42,000 debt (tuition fees and maintenance loans combined).

Lastly, I'm not confident about the education system and qualifications used in the US, so how can I make sure that I'm eligible in the first place and meet requirements in terms of matching them against my current qualifications and skills? I know that, here, most Universities require A-Levels in Maths and Physics, and sometimes Art & Design (or provide a foundation year in Art & Design).