Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hi i've just started in Year 12 and I was wondering how much time i'd have to dedicate per week to these subjects considering my grades in them at GCSE
    English lit/lang
    History
    Chemistry
    Biology

At gcse I got an A* in history, an A in english lit and a B in lang and a B in chemistry and Biology. I worked fairly hard for those grades but not so much for english

ReputationRep:
    I am a year 13 student and I study both biology and chemistry so can advise on them... can't say much about English or history though.

I think that once you get into the year you will know what needs more work. There is no magic formula, and a subject that one person needs to do loads of work for may come much easier for someone else. It is best to dedicate enough time so you keep on top of homework and make your you understand everything you are being taught. If you don't understand it you must ask for help or do extra research because otherwise it will be a month before the exams and you'll be stressing about 101 things you don't understand.

It is extremely important that you organise your work well. Last year I wrote everything up the day after the lesson but this year I am typing it all up. I feel that if I didn't write it up I didn't remember it well. I remember being told by a teacher if you revisit things a day later and then a month later then you remember it better.

Also, make use of the people around you. If they need help on a topic you understand then help them (teaching is great revision) and if you need help then ask!

Sorry if this is a bit of an essay... But I think a lot of people start year 13 thinking 'I wish I knew this last year', 'I wish I did this last year'. Sometimes due to bad results but sometimes due to a lack of understanding at AS affecting A2.

Good luck with it all. Do you know what you plan to do at university?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Lozzie97)