The Student Room Group

Which A2 Licence Motorbike?

Hey I'm a student with my full A2 bike licence but I don't know what kind of bike to go for. I've been looking a suzuki gsx750f but im unsure and just figured i'd make a post to see what bikes other students have bought and what their opinions are. Thanks

CT: bigger discussion on finding cheap motorbike insurance here
(edited 5 years ago)

Scroll to see replies

Original post by owen_mcgren
Hey I'm a student with my full A2 bike licence but I don't know what kind of bike to go for. I've been looking a suzuki gsx750f but im unsure and just figured i'd make a post to see what bikes other students have bought and what their opinions are. Thanks

I'd avoid the gsx personally, it'll need restricting and the revy nature of a inline 4 would be crap if restricted, especially if using a throttle stopper. Personally I'd go for a twin or big single like a 690 smc or duke. The powers down low and they're light enough to still work well when restricted. There's plenty of other bikes too that'd work and they should be cheaper to insure than an i4. Older Cb500s are good little bikes and handle exceptionally well, plus they're pretty cheap, so would be worth considering.
Reply 2
See I was thinking of something along the lines of a tourer as I want/plan to do a journey from Teesside to Bournemouth every once in a while which is like 5 1/3 hours journey one way. The gsxf looked like a good contender as I spotted a used one within my price range but I wanted to see what others had got etc.
The Duke is a nice looking bike but I doubt I could get one for £1000 or less (my budget as will need to tax and insure etc.)
See I was thinking of something along the lines of a tourer as I want/plan to do a journey from Teesside to Bournemouth every once in a while which is like 5 1/3 hours journey one way. The gsxf looked like a good contender as I spotted a used one within my price range but I wanted to see what others had got etc.