Used fake name when detained for shop lifting - help Watch

woogywoo
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 years ago
Hi,

I urgently need help with the following situation.

I am a student in England and am extremely broke. Like extremely.

Last week I was caught shop lifting in Sainsburys (food so I can eat). I had had my purse stolen / lost earlier in the week so did not have my ID or bank card or anything to identify myself. I was using an old purse of my sister's which had her ID in it. So, being the disgusting human being my circumstances have made me become, was let off but my sister has now been issued a Civil Recovery letter and a fine of £150 pounds.

She didn't know about the event until she got the letter and called up the company to say it wasn't her. They advised her to rip up the letter and ignore it.

I want to call them up and say it was me, but I have been caught shoplifting before and am worried if I admit guilt they will know my name and, as a second offender, call the police.

So my questions are:
1) if i pay the fine under my sister's name, what will happen? Will she get a criminal record? (The police were not involved)
2) If i leave the letter and don't pay the fine, will they pursue identity theft allegations? How easily will they be able to track me down?
3) If i call them and say it was me and then pay the fine, what will happen?

I don't want to tarnish my sister's future in any way, but nor do I want to go to jail.

Please help me. I feel disgustingly ashamed and horrified at my behaviour.
Markg125
Badges: 13
Rep:
?
Report 4 years ago
(Original post by woogywoo)
Hi,

I urgently need help with the following situation.

I am a student in England and am extremely broke. Like extremely.