Turn on thread page Beta

Do you use your degree knowledge in your current job? watch

ReputationRep:
    Just a quick survery I guess!

I recently started my first graduate job and although I'm absolutely loving it, I can't help but feel the past 4 years of my degree and all that money feel completely wasted, even though it was the best time of my life.

I studied french and history at uni, now I work with huge amounts of quantative data and spreadsheets. I literally learnt all my knowledge from scratch on the job. I can genuinely say that after a month I haven't even used those 'transferable skills' uni supposedly gives. As I said, I love my job and loved my degree, but I feel like it was so pointless in a way because it was almost too open.

So, how many of you use your degree in your careers? If you do/don't does it bother you at all?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by tillytots)
    I studied french and history at uni, now I work with huge amounts of quantative data and spreadsheets. I literally learnt all my knowledge from scratch on the job. I can genuinely say that after a month I haven't even used those 'transferable skills' uni supposedly gives.
    Well, that's no surprise when you study a useless degree and then (unsurprisingly) (have to) work in a completely different field. Pointless post, really.

ReputationRep:
    I do, it wasn't my initial aim though haha. I didn't see my degree subject as a means to get a good job though; I studied what I'd enjoy most as most jobs require any degree subject.

Posted from TSR Mobile

ReputationRep:
    I literally learnt all my knowledge from scratch on the job
    I can genuinely say that after a month I haven't even used those 'transferable skills' uni supposedly gives