Turn on thread page Beta

Laptop dies in seconds after unplugging charger? watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    Hey Guys;

Well, after taking the charger out of my laptop earlier (about 10 mins ago), my laptop instantly died...
    I know the most likely cause is the battery but, also, a few days ago, I noticed a burning kind of smell coming from my laptop and so, I decided to give it a brief clean incase it was dust and after turning it back on, it was fine.

Is it also possible one of my fans simply wasn't working at the time?

Thanks. =)

Laptop = ASUS N56V series and is coming up for 3 years old.

Also, just so you lot know, I know near enough nothing about laptops in terms of hardware, so, don't ask me as I won't know... =l
    I am a Biomedical Scientist, not a computer scientist... -.-

EDIT:
    In short, is there any other possible reason?

ReputationRep:
    Your battery is finished

ReputationRep:
    My old laptop used to do that, it would have to be constantly on charge. Your battery is just really bad. Do you leave it on charge when its fully charged? (Before this started happening)

ReputationRep:
    My laptop has the same problem. Your battery is dead. I just keep it plugged in all the time.

ReputationRep:
    I had something like that where my laptop was like overheating with all the dust inside it. Try really blowing into the fan groove things and a plume of dust might come out. If not it's most likely your battery

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by tinkerbell_xxx)
    My old laptop used to do that, it would have to be constantly on charge. Your battery is just really bad. Do you leave it on charge when its fully charged? (Before this started happening)
    Pretty much...

ReputationRep:
    Need to buy a new battery

ReputationRep: