Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hello, thanks for entering my thread

This thread is regarding whether or not I am able to be 'done' for plagiarism if I copy my own personal statement.

Here's some brief context:
    • I am applying in my gap year for a Mathematics degree and am currently in the process of writing a personal statement.
    • However, during my A2, I applied for Chemical Eng.
    • For obvious reasons I will not be copying the aspects on why I am studying the course into my new personal statement, but I may copy the generic 'about me' stuff.

So would this be regarded as plagiarism?

All comments are well appreciated
    • Very Important Poster
    • PS Reviewer

ReputationRep:
    Very Important Poster
    PS Reviewer
    (Original post by mubmoh)
    Hello, thanks for entering my thread

This thread is regarding whether or not I am able to be 'done' for plagiarism if I copy my own personal statement.

Here's some brief context:
    • I am applying in my gap year for a Mathematics degree and am currently in the process of writing a personal statement.
    • However, during my A2, I applied for Chemical Eng.
    • For obvious reasons I will not be copying the aspects on why I am studying the course into my new personal statement, but I may copy the generic 'about me' stuff.

So would this be regarded as plagiarism?

All comments are well appreciated
    UCAS plagiarism detection has 2 stages.

Your PS would trip the first stage as containing sentences similar to another statement - but the second stage is that a person looks at the two statements to identify if there is an issue. At the second stage it would be clear that the similarity is to your previous PS and so your universities wouldn't be notified of the match.

ReputationRep:
    No, I called UCAS about this as I had the same problem, it is self plagiarism but the system will not do anything about it

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by PQ)