SportsDoc
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 years ago
Hi there! I'm a current First Year student at the University of Glasgow and would like to share some of my experiences from:

a) being rejected first time round as a Scottish School Leaver.

b) gaining three interviews and three offers last year before ultimately selecting the University of Glasgow.

Please use this thread to discuss entrance to all five Scottish Medical Schools - Aberdeen, Dundee, Edinburgh, Glasgow and St Andrews.

Entry into Medicine in Scotland is competitive, as Scottish Universities rank among some of the best in the UK.

However do not think just because you have good grades and extensive work experience that you will get in. Scottish universities look for people that will make good Doctors - people with great team working skills, people who can demonstrate that they have interests outside medicine, people with something unique and ultimately people who are going to be able to relate to the people they eventually treat.

Fire away with any questions and best of luck to anyone who is applying this year!

Posted from TSR Mobile
searchingsazza
Badges: 1
Rep:
?
Report 4 years ago
Thanks for info. I want to apply to Glasgow. Can you advise UKCAT score (I have 2640/band 1 sj)? I emailed admissions but no reply. also I read Scottish students are preferred - is that right?
Pennyarcade
Badges: 14
Rep:
?
Report 4 years ago
(Original post by SportsDoc)

Entry into Medicine in Scotland is competitive, as Scottish Universities rank among some of the best in the UK.

However do not think just because you have good grades and extensive work experience that you will get in. Scottish universities look for people that will make good Doctors - people with great team working skills, people who can demonstrate that they have interests outside medicine, people with something unique and ultimately people who are going to be able to relate to the people they eventually treat.

Posted from TSR Mobile