hpjm1337
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 3 years ago
Hi everyone

I'm thinking of doing the GDL.

Some questions:

How difficult is it? Is it possible to continue hobbies and have a social life?

Is it a useful qualification in its own right?
pp93
Badges: 7
Rep:
?
Report 3 years ago
(Original post by hpjm1337)
Hi everyone

Some questions:

I've not done it myself but several of my friends have. I did a law degree. From comparing notes etc the GDL definitely seems easier and all my friends were able to carry on with their lives as normal.

The difficult thing they found was sometimes that concepts were quite abstract and difficult to grasp and there were periods where there was a lot of work. I guess that would be the same in any course though.

Only do it if you're set on a legal career. If not, you're better off pursuing something you might be more interesting.

Posted from TSR Mobile
TimmonaPortella
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 3 years ago
Imho you should do it if and only if you have a TC offer or Inn scholarship.
EasternGrit
Badges: 5
Rep:
?
Report 3 years ago
Academically easy; mostly moderate workload ie like a ft job, but with periods of more; no use for anything other than being a solicitor, barrister or paralegal. Getting into the former two is extremely competitive - do your research and very carefully weigh up your chances/secure the backing of a tc or scholarship as mentioned above before doing the gdl
J-SP
Badges: 17
Rep:
?
Report 3 years ago
Outside of the legal professions the GDL is hardly recognised. Even in the legal profession it's just seen more as a process/tick boxing exercise rather than having any clout or prestige.