Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    I'm really struggling to relate reductionism to any of the modules I studied for A2. Could anyone help me with this please?

ReputationRep:
    Biological Reductionism - evolution, genetics, psychodynamic approach...

- Family studies of Schizphrenia/Depression/OCD/Eating Disorders
    - Aggression - as adaptive behaviour in animals (Ardrey)
    - Gender - Chromosomes, Innates drives, Sociobiological theory
    - Sleep - Evolutionary theory of sleep
    - Relationships - Sociobiological theory
    - Personality - Psychodynamic approach

Physiological Reductionism - hormones, neurotransmitters, brain structure

- Dopamine, brain abnormality, hormones, hypothalamus in Schizophrenia, depression, OCD, eating disorders
    - Aggression - testostorone, hormones, PMS
    - Gender - Hormones (Batista family), Accidental penectomy (Money)
    - Sleep - stage of sleep, restoration theory
    - Dreams - activation-synthesism reverse learning theory
    - Personality - Ancient greek 'humours, Eysenck theory

If you're still struggling, I'll put some environmental reductionism up later tonight.

ReputationRep:
    Are all those reductionist? How can restoration theory be reductionism?

I've decided to so Nature/Nurture, Psychology as a Science and Reductionism. Is that foolish? I really don't get free will/determinism :|

ReputationRep:
    Anyone...?

ReputationRep:
    What exam board are you with?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Surfing Hamster)
    Are all those reductionist? How can restoration theory be reductionism?

I've decided to so Nature/Nurture, Psychology as a Science and Reductionism. Is that foolish? I really don't get free will/determinism :|

The restoration theory is reductionist because it only takes evolutionary theories into account... what about behavioural theories? We may have learnt to sleep from a young age because we physiologically/psychologically feel better...

ReputationRep: