jotpedwagieemde
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 years ago
Hey guys.
I have a little struggle in writing my personal statement for 2016 application.
I undertook my exams in 2015 but due to financial reasons I was unable to go to UK to study this year. I had to stay in poland and now I am studying medicine, but no matter how weird it may sound it was just my backup option because my ambition is to study pscychology in UK.
And here is the problem: as far as I know I have to mention what Ive been doing during the gap year (well, it is not truly a gap year since I am studying) but I dont know how it mentioning that I have already been studying another subject will be perceived and how much of disadvantage it will be. Anybody been in such a situation or has an idea what to do?
BoogieWoogie97
Badges: 8
Rep:
?
Report 4 years ago
You may want to check the relevant universities' websites about their policies on this. Not all universities accept applications from people currently studying another degree, unless it's in their final year and they're hoping to start after they've finished their current degree.

It's not a gap year so you'd do well not to call it that - you're studying another subject. You could talk about how you're more interested in the patient contact and listening to people's problems and counselling (which, as far as my limited knowledge goes, is what psychologists do) and use that as a reason to say why you've changed your mind about what you want to study.

(Original post by jotpedwagieemde)
Hey guys.
I have a little struggle in writing my personal statement for 2016 application.
I undertook my exams in 2015 but due to financial reasons I was unable to go to UK to study this year. I had to stay in poland and now I am studying medicine, but no matter how weird it may sound it was just my backup option because my ambition is to study pscychology in UK.