SpaceNomad
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 5 years ago
Hi everyone

Long time lurker, now I finally registered!
I couldn't find a thread about OU's Classical Studies degree - is anyone doing it? Or maybe taking modules from the course?

I'm now on my second maths module with the OU (improve my embarrassingly poor maths skills), so I'm not entirely new to the OU. I have a MSc in Biology from a brick uni and I've studied "traditionally" for quite some time.
However, I've never studied anything other than science or maths in university and I suspect that the arts will be tougher in terms of workload (essays, reading and the like).
Also I've read in the module reviews that the Classics modules (level 2, 3) seem to be hard and the grading at times quite discouraging...?

Maybe it's worth mentioning that I don't intend to study Classics because I "need" the degree, but because ancient culture, and Greek mythology in particular, is something like my childhood sweetheart and I would like to learn about it in a structured way with the extra motivation of getting a degree as reward in the end...

Basically: Is anyone doing the degree or some modules from it? How do you like it? Is it interesting? Do the modules complement each other or is there a lot of repetition? Tell me everything!
SpaceNomad
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 5 years ago
No one? Really? :/
Htc13
Badges: 1
Rep:
?
Report 5 years ago