Sarahbee100
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 years ago
Good evening,

Does anyone have any experience with the following? I am a military student who has been released from full time employment (with full salary) to study ODP. Previous individuals have qualified for a Maintenance Grant, as we have our fees paid for us but are not entitled to NHS bursaries.

After my initial application came through as £0 entitlement, I contacted SFE who informed me I had made a mistake regarding placement info. This was corrected and I was assured that funding would be released to me for both maintenance grant and a maintenance loan.

On contacting them for an update, I was told that there were nil issues with my application, that it would take another week to process and I was given 2 separate figures that I would be receiving for the maintenance grant and the maintenance loan in due course.

On a further call, 2 weeks later, I was assured that all was swell and that funding would be released to me and visible on my account by 15th Oct. I checked today and noted that the status had changed to "Payments Scheduled" but could find no details.

I contacted SFE again to be told that I have not applied for a maintenance loan and I have zero eligibility for a maintenance grant as I am on an NHS course. This is despite having nothing to do with the NHS employment wise and previous students in the exact same position receiving this grant.

Is there anyone who could shed any light on what might have gone wrong here? It seems I have been constantly lied to for roughly 9 weeks now by a completely incompetent department - it takes 5 phone calls and 5 different advisors to discover the above. I can imagine my frustration is minimal as I am lucky enough to receive a salary whilst studying but feel clarification on this matter would help future students in the same position.

Thanks in advance.
Mark Lee - SFE Official Adviser
Badges: 6
Rep:
?
Report 4 years ago
Hi,