Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

Considering Studying Law, already been through uni. Looking for some advice please watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    Hi folks, I am looking for some advice from those in the know.

I graduated university a few months ago with a 2.1 Honours degree in Finance and Economics form the University of Strathclyde. Essentially now I am stuck trying to make a decision on what I want to do with the foreseeable future.

My problem is that I didn't enjoy finance and economics enough to justify working in that area. I have explored my employment opportunities but I don't feel I would be satisfied working in that area. So now I am looking to explore my options further.

Anyway, what I am looking for is some advice about studying law. I would likely enrol in the accelerated LLB ( lets just assume for the time being that I can finance this course) . So firstly, has anyone been on an accelerated LLB course and can tell me a bit about what it is like ?

Secondly, for me to go back to uni I would need to know I am going to enjoy it. Aside from trawling the internet and reading about on the university websites, which I have been doing, how else can I find out the basics about studying law ? Is there perhaps any books that anyone could recommend ?

Thanks very much, really would appreciate any help.

Jamie

ReputationRep:
    You could do the GDL(conversion course) which is only one year. (I haven't read your post fully, sorry if you have mentioned something in regards to it).

ReputationRep:
    Hi, no worries I am aware of the GDL conversion course and I have seen it mentioned but I am not sure what it entails. I will look into this. Could anyone perhaps give me some indication as to how the GDL differs from the accelerated LLB, advantages and disadvantages perhaps ?

Thanks again,

Jamie

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Finglas)