Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    how would you say in German 'when we were younger we got along well.' How would you also say 'we used to share a room.' Any extra help with forming past tense like that would also be appreciated thanks!

ReputationRep:
    Hiya, I'm studying German at A2 so I should be able to help (hopefully, lol). If some of the stuff in this reply is complicated, don't worry! GCSE feels like an age ago now so I might just be getting ahead of myself If you need me to explain any of these concepts let me know!

"When we were younger we got along well." = Als wir jünger waren, sind wir gut ausgekommen.
    'auskommen' means 'to get along'. Usually it's good to put an adjective in there, e.g. gut (good). Also, in most cases you need to say you get along WITH someone, so it's mit auskommen, e.g. Ich komme [gut] mit meinen Bruder aus = I get along [well] with my brother. (Remember it's separable too! I can explain separable verbs if you want me to.)
    If you don't get along with someone, throw nicht in there, e.g. Ich komme nicht mit meinen Bruder aus = I don't get along with my brother.
    OR Ich komme schlecht mit meinen Bruder aus = I get along terribly with my brother.

"We used to share a room." = Früher haben wir ein Zimmer geteilt.
    Saying "used to" in German is a bit trickier, since there's no direct translation. You can use the word 'früher' instead, which means 'earlier' or 'in the past'. So in German, you'd say "in the past we shared a room" rather than "we used to share a room".

There's two past tenses in German, perfect & imperfect. We have them in English too.

Perfect = I have gone to the cinema. I have studied for my exam.
    Imperfect = I went to the cinema. I studied for my exam.