Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

I didn't sign a tenancy agreement but they're asking for money I can't afford?! watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    Help,
    I was a student but i have withdrawn from my course because i was no longer interested. I had booked a student room for me to move into around the end of septmeber 2015. I cancelled the room around the end of August 2015. I never signed and returned the tenancy agreement as i had already decided i wasn't going back to Uni. They have requested i pay the first term amount of £1650.32 but i never signed the tenancy agreement, only accepted the offer of the room online, paying £1 as a deposit, which they said over the phone "agrees to their terms and conditions". I have already spoken to them on the phone and explained i only work part time and struggle to live on my current salary anyway. Me and my family have never been rich and we struggle everyday and physically cannot afford to pay such a high amount of money. They mentioned i could advertise the room to get someone else to move in and then it would cancel me out and i wouldn't have to pay anything, and they offered to help advertise the room also. They also said i could start paying little bits a month, but i explained this would only be a maximum of £25 a month as that is all i can afford, taking into account everyday things i need to pay for, travel and paying board being the most expensive. I need help and advice on anything else i can say to the student halls when i ring them again. They have also been clumsy with my emails cancelling the room, i first rang them and spoke to someone on the phone to cancel my room and they didn't seem professional at all and just told me to email as its written, so i emailed them, cancelling my room and then confirming my cancellation. They emailed back saying i still need to pay and then this is when i decided to ring them. Once i rang them they have sai