Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    I'm currently studying first year maths at Warwick, but looking into transferring back to Manchester (reasons being urgent family issues back home as well as other factors) to study there instead. I have had to go home to Manchester every weekend so far to take care of my dad, meaning I've missed out on a few lectures and assignments already. If I moved back to Manchester, I feel like I would be able to concentrate better and get a better end grade.

The reason I chose Warwick in the first place however was because it has a "better" course (i.e. employers would value it more), but if i could get a better grade in Manchester, would employers value a first from Manchester in maths or a 2:1 from Warwick?

ReputationRep:
    Theres too much emphasis on this forum on best university, as if you just need to sit somewhere and somehow that is automatically prestigious. If you get first Class masters from manchester of first class from warwick, its unlikely to make any difference.

ReputationRep:
    First from Manchester.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by LPSteve)
    I'm currently studying first year maths at Warwick, but looking into transferring back to Manchester (reasons being urgent family issues back home as well as other factors) to study there instead. I have had to go home to Manchester every weekend so far to take care of my dad, meaning I've missed out on a few lectures and assignments already. If I moved back to Manchester, I feel like I would be able to concentrate better and get a better end grade.

The reason I chose Warwick in the first place however was because it has a "better" course (i.e. employers would value it more), but if i could get a better grade in Manchester, would employers value a first from Manchester in maths or a 2:1 from Warwick?
    First from Manchester

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by TeeEm)