Turn on thread page Beta

Possibility of studying in the USA (Hopefully Harvard) watch

ReputationRep:
    Hey.

I'm only in my first year in my sixth-form college but I'm seriously interested in going to study abroad once I finish my A-Levels, hopefully America. The main college I've been looking at is Harvard and the main thing what got me was that, on their website, they needed their GCSE results to be on average of an A.

My GCSE results are terrible in my opinion due to me picking the wrong subjects and also me slacking off (Art and Music specifically). I believe I average on a mid-C. However, I'm currently re-doing my GCSE Maths since during the exams I was unable to attend it. I'm on the right track to get an A in my maths.

GCSE Results:
    Maths: X (Hopefully an A after I take them in November)
    English Language: C
    English Lit: C
    Core Science: C
    Additional Science: B
    Graphic Design: D
    Art and Music: E

I also took the Cambridge Nationals for Computer Science, where I got a P2 in. I believe that's an equivalent to a C but I'm not entirely sure.

For my A-Levels, I've taken Applied Business, Media Studies and Religious Studies. I've also taken BTEC Applied Law. (Something I really couldn't find what the grades in this would be worth in UCAS points)

I've also looked at a few resources in my college's site about studying in the USA and checked a few SAT example questions on the PDF document. Am I right that the English portion of the SATs are mainly grammar checking based?

The main point of this thread is to answer this question: Is there any hope in hell I would be able to get into a good college in America?
    Note: My heart is set on the USA in general, not specifically Harvard. I just want to know if it's possible at all for me to get in this.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by GB1999)