Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hi everyone,

I'm a current 4th year student at UCL, and I'll be graduating at the end of this year. I thought it was about time that I made a post about what chemical engineering is really like at UCL, for anyone who thinks they might want to attend.

First of all, I understand the appeal. I know what it's like to think that going to UCL will be an amazing experience, and how good it will be for your future career, and how great it will be living in London. Maybe that's true for other departments at UCL, but if you're considering coming here for chemical engineering, I'd advise against it.

Now on to the real stuff.

The department doesn't care about its students. That's the bottom line. There's a good reason why the student satisfaction is so low. You will get very little support from the department and especially from the lecturers, most of whom give lectures like they're being forced to do so with a whip, like their students are just an inconvenience. I've had lecturers who, if you went to their office to ask something, would be incredibly unhelpful and almost unwilling to give help. I can't count the number of emails I've sent that have gone unanswered. You really notice it when you have lectures in other departments, and you actually enjoy them, unlike in your own department where you have to listen to someone who doesn't want to be there. To give someone credit, the Head of Education for the department is great and does whatever she can to help students, but unfortunately that stops with her.

There is a system of personal tutors, who are supposed to ensure that you are handling the course well and have no issues. Some of my friends have seen their tutors maybe twice the whole time they've been at UCL.