Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

Thinking about leaving uni watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    Hi, I'm a Spanish student who decided to come to England to study, I've been here for a month and a half and I just don't think I can do this any more. People are quite nice to me, but still I don't feel comfortable enough to be my self and I hate my self for that. I'm starting to lose contact with my friends back home, and I'm trying to keep it, but even my best friend will ignore me when she has absolutely nothing to do, and that also makes me hate my self. I think I'm dealing well enough with my lectures and it is the only time I don't think about quitting but this is just 5 hours a week, but my seminars are quite hard as I don't know any one and I don't get to actually talk to people. Everyone is going out having fun and I just stay in my room and almost every day end up crying. And I also miss to much my family and friends, it's been the first time in my life my grandpa has said he misses me. But also I know family would be disappointed with me, my friends too, and I know how influential some of my friends' parents are on them and I know I will defenitley lose some of my best friends for this. I'm sorry to bother you guys with this, but I really don't know what to do and this seems the only place from which I could get some help.
    Thank you and best wishes to everyone!!!

ReputationRep:

I'm not at uni yet so my suggestions may be ridiculous. Sorry in advance if it is. I think the problem here is that you feel alone and isolated. To solve this problem, you'll need to make friends. The best way to do that (i think) is to join societies and become familiar with your flatmates. Start with small talk and eventually it'll build into some friendships.