Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Yup guys you heard it, i cruised by year 11 with little to no work and gained the unfortunate grades of :
    AABBBBCCD
    (The A's being in Maths and Chemistry, and the D being in ICT )

However in yr12 i really sat down and tried my absolute best and gained 5 very good grades of :
    AAAAA

( These A's were in maths which had a 100% avg, chem 92%, physics 93%, biology 98%, further maths 95%) These are all RAW marks not UMS XD (100s in all subjects via UMS).

so as you can see i progressed really well throughout year 12, which allowed me to gain predicted grades of 4 A*. (which i personally believe are likely as i've studied the following during summer : C3 / C4 / M2/ FP2 / FP3 / M3, Physics H158/H558).

Yup you read that right, i studied the whole OCR A2 physics and Edexcel further maths and maths courses during summer school... it wasnt a breeze at all (3hrs a day per subject self study and an private tutor every Monday Wednesday and Friday ). (No chemistry revision done unfortunately :P

Currently taking at A2: Maths, Further maths , Physics and Chemistry

I've sent off applications to Cambridge, UCL, Bath and lastly Exeter for mechanical engineering undergrad courses.

Do you think i'm at an disadvantage especially when it comes to prestigious unis such as Cambridge, UCL and Bath?. I would be over the moon if i were to get an offer from any of these universities I've sent applications to.

Tell me your honest opinion of my chances to get into these schools i've applied for?. Hopefully my GCSE don't hold me back too much that is my major worry.

Lastly, many thanks for taking your time to read and reply

ReputationRep:
    no but you would be if you applied to oxford or imperial because they place some weight on GCSEs

ReputationRep:
    I'd say yes to all and maybe to Cambridge (you'd have higher chances at Oxford)