Turn on thread page Beta

Graduating with no disseration / final-year project watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    Basically I'm studying Software Engineering and I'm in my 3rd year at the University. This would be my final year if I was on the Bachelors pathway but I'm on the Masters pathway. Therefore I've no final year project / dissertation to do until next year. I can however graduate this year with a Bachelors if I really wanted, but since I didn't say in September I was Bachelors it would mean having no dissertation / final-year project. My course is driving me absolutely insane and I would consider just finishing a year early without a final year project but would this look really bad to prospective employers?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by seanh20)
    Basically I'm studying Software Engineering and I'm in my 3rd year at the University. This would be my final year if I was on the Bachelors pathway but I'm on the Masters pathway. Therefore I've no final year project / dissertation to do until next year. I can however graduate this year with a Bachelors if I really wanted, but since I didn't say in September I was Bachelors it would mean having no dissertation / final-year project. My course is driving me absolutely insane and I would consider just finishing a year early without a final year project but would this look really bad to prospective employers?
    How would they even know? Most will only be interested in the final degree.

I didn't do a final year project or dissertation, I had enough module points from doing normal subjects instead.

ReputationRep:
    Depends, my final year dissertation got me onto my phd and i know people who got offered jobs off the back of theirs (actualy sent in a copy after being rejected-then got the job) but thats in biotech, not sure re compsci

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Reue)
    How would they even know? Most will only be interested in the final degree.