Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hi

I am studying for a MSc at Brunel Uni.

When I submit my application earlier this year, I planned to do a module in Data Warehousing and Business Intelligence. It sounded very interesting at the open day. I'm 4 weeks in, I've noticed the module has been replaced with Research Methods for next term.

Am I ok to complain? I will try to contact the course leader asap.

J

ReputationRep:
    Go for it. Doesn't sound fair.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by DataNerd)
    Hi

I am studying for a MSc at Brunel Uni.

When I submit my application earlier this year, I planned to do a module in Data Warehousing and Business Intelligence. It sounded very interesting at the open day. I'm 4 weeks in, I've noticed the module has been replaced with Research Methods for next term.

Am I ok to complain? I will try to contact the course leader asap.

J
    You can complain but it probably won't do any good, sorry - there will be a 'get out clause' somewhere in the small print, saying that they cannot guarantee to deliver all of the modules in the course description. Things happen - the academic who was the expert in a particular subject leaves, a new module needs to be introduced and something has to go to make way for it, the staffing situation means that a tutor has to deliver a module for a different course and can't do both… loads of reasons. It's something that does happen for Masters courses and it's a shame that your preferred module was the one to go, but they probably won't be able to do anything as a result of your potential complaint

Edit to add - from one of Brunel's own documents:

the University will take all reasonable action to deliver courses and services in accordance with the descriptions set
    out in it

i.e. they don't guarantee to run all the modules.

ReputationRep:
    Hi,