Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

Been at uni only 5 weeks and workload already affecting my health. watch

I'm studying English Lit at a top 5 uni. I have a long term illness and studying at uni has been my dream for years. However, now I'm here I'm finding the workload overwhelming.

Obviously I expected a lot of reading with studying English Lit, but the amount they expect us to read on top of essays/seminar prep etc. is impossible. I'm already having to cut corners wherever I can and am still behind! I feel like I barely have any free time and am often up on Mondays and Tuesday's till 3 am and then up again at 8. I'm constantly exhausted and am already struggling with how relentless it feels.

My flatmates tell me I'm overworking myself, but I don't see how I can do any less without falling seriously behind. Most people on my course are behind with the reading list - some don't worry about it, but I'm a natural worrier. Is there anything I can do to make the workload a bit more manageable for myself? I take lots of notes from the books I read, so I think that slows me down and I also spend around 20 hours on each essay.

Is there anywhere else I could cut corners?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Anonymous)
    I'm studying English Lit at a top 5 uni. I have a long term illness and studying at uni has been my dream for years. However, now I'm here I'm finding the workload overwhelming.

Obviously I expected a lot of reading with studying English Lit, but the amount they expect us to read on top of essays/seminar prep etc. is impossible. I'm already having to cut corners wherever I can and am still behind! I feel like I barely have any free time and am often up on Mondays and Tuesday's till 3 am and then up again at 8. I'm constantly exhausted and am already struggling with how relentless it feels.