Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

For me it is the time when I finally have to make up my mind on what to do in my life. I've been procrastinating long enough.The deal is that I am in my second year of uni and I have the oppurtunity to apply for a year long placement. I can apply for anything and anywhere that's available. Firstly, I am studying finases, so the options are quite a lot, secondly, the location! I would rather have the placement in my native country but it seems that the application process would take more time there than in UK and knowing that my uni has enforced the policy of sticking with the first company that has agreed to employ me (well, that is kinda logical)... it becomes tricky. Yes, it is possible that I will not find a proper placement in my native country, so I need to apply here in UK as well to have a back-up plan, though due the difference in the time of application (it might take longer to get a response from an employer outside the UK) the back-up plan might become the primary plan. It wouldn't be bad to work here, but eventually I would like to return back and why not sooner if possible?

Another thing, I am starting to doubt my past choice to change my uni course. Before Finance I studied Telecommunications for a year, I didn't like it but I didn't hate it. My grades were excellent... and yet I decided that Finance was more suitable for me. Most probable reason was the poor quality of the course and, honestly, dumb classmates... The thought of opportunity cost doesn't leave my mind.