Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hi,

I'm in my 2nd year of uni. It's one of the top universities in the UK and I really feel like I just shouldn't be here. Last year I did really badly and got 64% in my first year yet everyone I know is always getting firsts and are really good at grasping the material yet it takes me ages.

I do really badly in other tests like numerical tests for internships, memory tests etc. I'm really bad at cooking, sport, you name it, I'm really really bad and under average.

I only managed to get into the uni because I just memorised a load of stuff for my exams. Has anyone been through/is going through this and can give me some advice for how to deal with this?

ReputationRep:
    64% is not 'doing badly!' It is a 2.1 (if this is what you get overall) which is a respected degree! And from a top university! Sometimes the tortoise beats the hare and those people that you say memorise the material quickly may crash and burn later on!

Cooking - most people will not exactly be Jamie Oliver at your age! And not everyone is sporty!

Maybe you are just lacking in self esteem! If you have friends that put you down, even if it is 'banter,' don't stand for it! Same with any boyfriend, although maybe if you are single you need a partner to bug you up!

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by em2014)
    Last year I did really badly and got 64% in my first year
    You won't get much sympathy for comments like this.

ReputationRep:
    I will NOT have you feeling sorry for yourself!

Have confidence in yourself, dear, as befits someone with their own cash and credit card.

ReputationRep:
    Let me summarise:

1/ Poster got good grades. Poster goes to a good uni

2/ Poster wants to gloat and tell the world

3/ Poster isnt sure how

4/ Poster realises he/she can make a thread about it to show off

ReputationRep: