Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

Having second thoughts about 24k job starting next week watch

ReputationRep:
    Hi everyone.

So I'm due to start a job in London next Monday starting at 24k per year. The job would be a Tuesday to Saturday shift and would be for a household name corporation.

My problem is that I'm beginning to doubt whether I should do this job. I'm a graduate in French and Italian (first) and this would be my first job (graduated July). I cannot find anywhere to live for less than 750 a month for tiny London/around London flatshares and it looks like after bills, rent and food I'd only be putting aside 250-350 a month for myself.

Is that enough? Am I being pathetic or are my concerns about my way of life down there understandable? It's really keeping me up at night and I don't really have anyone to talk to about it. Thanks for anyone that can help.

ReputationRep:
    Can you stick it out for a while and then ask for a transfer?

ReputationRep:
    Well what is the salary progression and what are the exit opportunities? People generally give up with London after a few years and use it mainly as a way to be around other young people and bid up their salary.

In any case you may as well take it, work at it and see what it's like. I for one would scarcely know how to spend £2-350 a month completely disposable income.

ReputationRep:
    I'm sorry, but there are places for less than £750 a month in London. I pay £550 a month all bills included and I live in Streatham (South London, Zone 3). I also earn less than you and have managed. I'm actually looking forward to the day I earn 23-24k so I have more money to play around with!

Posted from TSR Mobile

ReputationRep:
    I think that's a sizeable salary for a graduate job and on paper it sounds good.