Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

Is it possible to get entry into investment banking with a BTEC? watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    Say one does BTEC National Diploma in Business and receives highest marks (360 UCAS points), then studies at a Top 30 University and graduates with a 1st class in Accounting and Finance...and then undertakes a Msc Finance from LSE/Imperial/Oxford.

What I am worried about is the BTEC. It may say that it is equivalent to three As at A-level, but we all know that's not the case...I didn't want to do this BTEC (my parents badly influenced me...).

I am in second year now and will hopefully graduate with a 1st class degree, but how badly will this BTEC affect me? Should I take a year off after graduation and do three A-levels within a year before doing a Masters?

Since I haven't taken A-levels before it should be my 'first sit'. What do you think?

My interests lie in asset management/research...

ReputationRep:
    I took A levels as normal, but generally employers like BTEC's more than typical TSR people would have you believe.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Masih ad-Dajjal)
    I took A levels as normal, but generally employers like BTEC's more than typical TSR people would have you believe.
    This may be the case, but I am worried that people will look down on me.
    I don't think it is very respected in the finance industry...there is a reason top Universities do not accept it.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Dave9520)
    This may be the case, but I am worried that people will look down on me.
    I don't think it is very respected in the finance industry...there is a reason top Universities do not accept it.
    A lot do...

ReputationRep:
    A lot do...
    Do you have any idea how it is viewed in the finance industry/Big 4 Accounting firms?

ReputationRep:
    Do you have any idea how it is viewed in the finance industry/Big 4 Accounting firms?