Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    prospective English student at Kings which is looking like my top choice, was wondering how people are finding the English course/ uni life? answers much appreciated.

ReputationRep:
    Hi there,

I'm actually a third year English student at Kings so I'd be perfectly happy to answer your question.

Honestly, you could not find such a varied or diverse set of module options than right here at Kings, it's one of the main reasons I ended up choosing KCL over other universities as I didn't want a generic set of modules to choose from with no leeway in to what I wanted to specifically study or write about. Because we're based at the Strand and Kings has taught eminent writers such as Virginia Woolf or Thomas Hardy, there are certain modules in the first year which draw inspiration from these writers and other writers that have written about London.

In addition to this, the standard of our lecturers and lectures is pretty great. These lecturer's have gone to world class institutions themselves and it shows in their research and quality of lectures, for me this was important as you obviously want to be taught by the best. For example, if you're doing a Shakespeare module, you could be taught by someone who has edited prominent editions of Shakespeare texts that are used globally.

I think the number one thing I liked about my course was meeting the study abroad students who you get to know in your 2nd and 3rd year. Meeting them and getting a new perspective of the course from different people was great! We also partner with great study abroad institutions from around the world, so if you do choose Kings, definitely check these out!