Turn on thread page Beta

Mental health and choosing a degree watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    Hello!

So firstly, a bit of information about my mental health. I've had mental health problems for many years. I can go from hating something to loving it a few hours later. I'll have periods of time when I'm fine but it can switch in a matter of minutes. My opinions of people, from close friends to those I've never met are really inconsistent. I can see this in retrospect but not at the time. I've overdosed before and was taken to hospital and I often self-harm and binge eat. I've never been given an actual diagnosis, but been told variously that I have depression, anxiety, mood dysregulation and hypomania after seeing a psychiatrist and psychologist for about two years.

Now to the problem. I'm currently studying Politics at uni and I really loathe it. It seemed like a great idea when I started but now I want to drop out because I feel I despise it and want nothing to do with it. I dropped out of an Anatomy degree three years ago for the same reason and I've also dropped out of two college courses between then and now. In the past, I've also applied for courses in Food Science, Forensics, Petroleum Engineering, Environmental Management, Nursing, Maths and Philosophy. I was really keen to do all of these for a while before rapidly changing my mind and deciding they were boring and I hated them. Before studying Politics I had applied for Psychology before asking to switch and was also contemplating switching to Film.