Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

Student finance watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    I'm currently studying a foundation degree which is two years, I have received both a maintenance loan and tuition fee loan for this.
    Next year I plan to study an honours degree but they won't take second year entrance, I'm aware I will have to self fun 1 year as I will have used my 4 years funding, however in my self funded tuition fee year will I still be able to receive a maintenance loan?

ReputationRep:
    If you complete your 2 year Foundation Degree and wish to top up to an Honours degree, your student finance is worked out on a calculation - Ordinary Duration of course + gift year - any prev years of study.

If you are going into year 1 of a 3 year Degree course your calculation will be (3+1)-2=2 so you will receive two years of FULL funding for your 2nd and 3rd years of the course.

You will have to self fund your fees for the 1st year - you will however be entitled to Maintenance Loan (which can be means tested).

Hope that helps!
    • Very Important Poster

ReputationRep:
    Very Important Poster
    (Original post by Spudalump)
    If you complete your 2 year Foundation Degree and wish to top up to an Honours degree, your student finance is worked out on a calculation - Ordinary Duration of course + gift year - any prev years of study.

If you are going into year 1 of a 3 year Degree course your calculation will be (3+1)-2=2 so you will receive two years of FULL funding for your 2nd and 3rd years of the course.

You will have to self fund your fees for the 1st year - you will however be entitled to Maintenance Loan (which can be means tested).

Hope that helps!
    The OP is also affected by the ELQ rules.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by OU Student)
    The OP is also affected by the ELQ rules.
    I know I am a student finance assessor.