Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

My qualifications dont meet the entry requirements?? watch

ReputationRep:
    Hey guys,
    I'm 20 years old and I applied for an engineering foundation course.

So I just got an answer from two unis that I applied and they both said that my qualifications don't meet the entry requirements.
    I was surprised because I applied for a Foundation course and I looked up a lot on the internet and it seemed to me that the foundation course was for those who didn't have A-levels and/or were from another coutry, thus having different kinds of qualifications.

I remember that I checked on the unis website if they accepted my countries qualifications and they did, so I really don't understand what's going on.
    I studied mechanical engineering in my country(brazil), but it was for 1 term only and my grades were awful because I was going through a lot.
    All I have are high school grades, which are all above C and a 7.0 on IELTS.
    Does anyone knows which qualifications I am supposed to have?
    I just sent an e-mail to the unis(nottingham and manchester), but I'm really curious and sad about this.

Also, if I DO have to take the A-levels, does anyone knows if it's possible to study on my own and take the exams?
    I'm already 20, so I don't have the time to spend 2 more years doing A-levels, plus I'm really good at math/science and I always studied alone, so I'm self-taught.

ReputationRep:
    foundation courses are for people who have taken a btec or alevels and didnt quite meet the criteria. what you need to do my friend is an access course

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by sebe0062)
    foundation courses are for people who have taken a btec or alevels and didnt quite meet the criteria. what you need to do my friend is an access course
    Sorry, I'm not from the UK so I'm not familiar with the name. Can you explain it to me?