Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

Women in the Armed Forces watch

ReputationRep:
    Hiya....

I was thinking of joining one of the Armed Forces as an aeronautical or mechanical engineer (RAF or RE) when I leave university (I'm currently studying for my GCSEs).

This will sound like a silly question buuuut....would you say there is a lot of sexism/negative behaviour towards women? Are there some forces in particular (if any) that are worse than others? I was looking for information about jobs in the RAF or RE and stumbled upon some interesting articles e.g. some women in the forces saying that they have experienced extremely little/no sexism whatsoever and another article with some worrying statistics about harassment etc.

I can deal with people saying I'm weak etc for being a woman (I am a strong-minded/confident person) but I'm not really prepared to be harassed or whatever.

Am I being silly and believing whatever I read?

Thanks for humouring me

ReputationRep:
    Hi wannabe, first of all, very best of luck with your plans - you sound pretty switched on and I'm sure you'd do well in an engineering field; more importantly, there is a strong desire to attract women into such roles in both the military and civvy street, so, assuming you have the required skills, you'd be encouraged throughout your career.

Your concerns are completely understandable, based on stories of sexism/harassment both historically and more recently, so no humouring is required.