Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hi, basically I have got a part time job at Salisbury's and I have been working there for over two months now. I think I have been doing a good job until today when the manger came up to me and say she will have a chat with me about my progress on Sunday. She said I wasn't in where I should be and that I have been slacking but all I did was to get some water as I was sick at the time. My co- workers have been taking some time off to talk and they didn't get picked on and the manager is basically saying that I am not good enough but I could say I worked really hard. I want to quit the job now as I don't want to get fired on Sunday after the talk, should I hand in the resignation letter before the chat on Sunday? But would it make it seem like it is my fault? Thanks

ReputationRep:
    No, don't resign. Stand up for yourself and defend yourself.

Consider what they might accuse you of and think about what you will say in return.

Try not to get angry or upset and definitely don't winge. Stick to the facts. Stick to statements like "I disagree because…" and "I don't know why you think that way because…".

If you can manage to do that, you'll probably come through it OK.

Did you tell anybody where you were going when you went to get water? If not they have no idea of why you had left the shop floor and how long you had been gone for.

I doubt they'll sack you at the first offence. You should go to the meeting and discuss it properly rather than running away from it.

ReputationRep:
    don't be a pussy have some respect for yourself and go to the meeting.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Simes)
    No, don't resign. Stand up for yourself and defend yourself.

Consider what they might accuse you of and think about what you will say in return.

Try not to get angry or upset and definitely don't winge. Stick to the facts. Stick to statements like "I disagree because…" and "I don't know why you think that way because…".